top of page
Search

How do you balance training and work?

Having a commitment to both wanting a sporting career as well as having a job can become difficult... So I have decided to write this blog about how I manage my training around work.


Both work and training are very time consuming, so usually once I have completed one, I’m not always motivated to do the other. To avoid that from happening, I always make a plan, or a slight schedule so that I’m more motivated to fulfil my training after a long day of work. Occasionally I will conduct my training before work, but I find my body isn’t always awake early in the morning to perform at its best. Therefore, I believe I get more out of my training going later in the day, when I’m more awake. My typical training week will consist of 3 endurance rides, 2 interval sessions and 2 easy days/ recovery days. I usually complete my three endurance rides on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday. My interval sessions on Tuesday and Thursday, and my recovery days on Monday and Friday. So how do I manage my training around my work hours?


I am disciplined

I find this is one of the most important characteristic to being an athlete, as it pushes you as an individual to have consistency within your training. There are so many times I will come back from work, and feel too drained to train. So having discipline enables me to remain consistent even around my work hours.


I have time management

Time management is extremely important to me. It enables me to plan my days, so that I’m both productive and I’m able to complete everything I need to in that day. It also helps me stay more motivated knowing I have goals throughout the week (even if they are small goals). Managing when I eat is also very important. I always take food to work so that I know I will have energy for my training later on in the day. I have made the typical mistake of forgetting to bring my food in the past, so I know the impact it has on energy levels during training later on. (It’s not fun).


I have a positive attitude

Having a positive attitude helps to boost my self confidence and fill me with energy. I find having a positive attitude makes me really motivated to get my training done, even after a long day at work. Happy head = good legs. I’m also extremely lucky to have club runs close by, that start after work. These help me to stay motivated as I always look forward to getting out on my bike with people who have as much love for riding their bikes as I do.


I am organised

Organisation is the ability to be systematic and efficient. Basically it's planning your time and your workload effectively. This skill becomes essential when being an athlete or working as it prepares you for the day. My way of keeping organised is laying out my clothes and making my lunch the night before. Furthermore, this will reduce my stress in the morning as I won't be in a rush.


I am able to adapt

Finally, I need to be able to adapt in certain situations. For example: I usually train after work at 6pm, but I have work until 9pm, so I would have to adapt my plan so that I train before work. Being able to do this took a lot of getting use to. I've had to adapt on multiple occasions now, which I didn't like as I prefer sticking to my usualy plan. I now make multiple plans, just in case my day changes, so I always have options.





79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page