top of page
Search

April Update

Castle Combe Good Friday

On the 7th of April I competed at the Castle Combe good Friday Easter Classic race! This was a last minute decision, but I’m so happy I went, as amazingly there were roughly 60 women in the race (E1/2/3)!!! My race didn’t start until 2, so I had plenty of time to fuel and get there. Although having time before a race still manages to go by pretty fast - I get to the race, and suddenly I’m on the start line. So the circuit. I’m very unfamiliar with, as I have only raced there once, 4 years ago, in 2019. From what I remember, the circuit is pan flat, has a few bends (nothing too technical) , it’s wide and open. Therefore it’s going to be windy, no matter the weather.


The race was aggressive from the get go. It was either really fast, or it would slow down slightly and there would be an attack. There were two prime laps at 20 minutes in and 40 minutes in. For these laps I knew I needed to be towards the front, to eliminate the chance of me missing a counter attack, or a break in the bunch. Both times I found myself towards the front, but the bunch remained together. The race resulted in a bunch finish, I gave it my all and managed a 22nd place:). For this race I had planned to gain more confidence, riding with more experienced girls, which I can say I definitely accomplished!


I was expecting to be writing more, but unfortunately I had to take time off due to an illness:( So not too busy this month, but I have some Belgium racing as well as the second round of the U23 and junior womens national series coming up in May!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page