top of page
Search

August update

Wow.


So… As soon as I recovered from covid, I was back racing the following weekend. Of course the circumstances weren’t ideal, but I was just happy to be back racing on my bike!!! The race was near Loughborough, conducted and made possible by PB performance. The elevation didn’t seem too bad on paper, but half the circuit was descending, whilst the other half was ascending making it hillier than it looked. It was a HOT day, and even the commissars decided to shorten the race. So instead of it being 80km, it was now 70km.


The race began and I found myself at the front, pulling turns. An hour went by, a few attacks occurred but nothing got away. I knew that if I wanted to get a result, or even finish this race I would have to fuel on every lap. Which is what I did, but even that wasn’t enough. The bunch maintained a hard pace, causing a few riders to peal off the back meaning not many were left on the final lap. I had nothing left in me on the last lap rolling in 5th junior.

My month finished off with a Pho3nix camp in Poland🤩! The camp started on the 23rd of August, finishing on the 28th. Pho3nix brings together high-performing junior athletes from across Europe to help them give a valuable insight into what it takes to be a professional athlete and achieve success in their chosen field. It’s hosted along side previous and current professional athletes, including gold and silver Olympic champions. To be given this opportunity was amazing! I met athletes from all over the world, and learnt about their experiences within their sport. I now have a wider understanding with the mental and physical battles an athlete undertakes. I also completed some long rides on the bike, with efforts, in preparation for watersley next weekend.




73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page