top of page
Search

June = races and final exams

This month has been pretty quiet for me due to having a sickness bug come along and my final exams. Unfortunately, I couldn’t race the first race of the women’s national circuit series in Otley because of it… But I do have a very busy month coming up with some pretty exciting races 🤩!


Recently I’ve also been concentrating on lots of course work as well as my final exams. This means I spent less time on the bike, but had a higher intensity so that I still benefited from my sessions.


Although I did manage to compete in a local race at Darley moor prior my illness. This race started in the afternoon, so I planed a 2hour ride to complete in the morning. I much prefer races in the afternoon, as I’m able to prepare my legs in the morning, making me feel fresh on the bike. An hour after, we were on our way! As soon as I got there, I signed on and got my gears checked. Once my number was on and I was warmed up, I was ready to race. The weather forecast showed no signs of rain, meaning I didn’t have to be cautious on the corners. My goals for this race were to be aggressive and to constantly make attacks to try and disrupt the race, to gain distance on the group. As soon as the race started, l attacked out of the hairpin. This caused loads of gaps, but it soon got caught. So I attacked again and again and again. Unfortunately, after many attempts I knew I couldn’t get away and that it was going to come down to a bunch sprint. With one lap to go, I positioned myself second wheel into the final bend. I then managed to find myself boxed in, so I had to force a gap for me to get out. At this point, I had dropped to 6th place, but I managed to gain to get 3rd within the final few meters. Pretty happy with a top 3. And now that I have finished college, I get to concentrate more on racing and training !!!




Coming up I have the national circuit series as well as junior track championships!!!


79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page